The Samsung Galaxy Z Fold8 combines a 7.6-inch folding display with a 5.5-inch cover screen, both featuring a 120Hz refresh rate. According to the supplied specifications, it uses Qualcomm’s Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 processor and offers up to 16GB RAM and 1TB storage. Two 50MP rear cameras handle wide and ultrawide photography, while a 4800mAh silicon-carbon battery supports 45W wired and 20W wireless charging. The phone runs Android 17 with One UI 9, includes Samsung DeX and is listed with support for up to seven major Android OS updates.
Samsung Galaxy Z Fold8 at a glance
| Displays & design | Performance & software | Cameras & battery |
|---|---|---|
| 7.6-inch folding AMOLED | Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 | 50MP main + 50MP ultrawide |
| 5.5-inch cover screen | 12GB or 16GB RAM | Two 10MP selfie cameras |
| 120Hz on both displays | Up to 1TB UFS 4.x storage | 4800mAh silicon-carbon battery |
| 201g; 4.5mm unfolded | Android 17; Samsung DeX | 45W wired; 20W wireless charging |
Launch, price and model details
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Announcement date | July 22, 2026 |
| Release date | July 22, 2026 |
| Availability | Listed as available in the supplied information |
| Previously rumoured name | Samsung Galaxy Z Fold Wide |
| Colours | Graphite, Cream, Lavender, Pistachio |
| Model numbers | SM-F971B, SM-F971B/DS, SM-F971U, SM-F971U1 |
| Listed prices | US$1,650 / €1,395 / £1,299 / ₹174,999 |
| Pricing note | Prices may vary by storage configuration, retailer and market |
Main display versus cover display
| Specification | Main folding display | Cover display |
|---|---|---|
| Screen size | 7.6 inches | 5.5 inches |
| Display technology | Foldable Dynamic LTPO AMOLED 2X | Dynamic LTPO AMOLED 2X |
| Refresh rate | 120Hz | 120Hz |
| Resolution | 2448 × 1848 pixels | 1248 × 1972 pixels |
| Listed aspect ratio | 4:3 | Not specified |
| Pixel density | Approximately 404 pixels per inch | Approximately 428 pixels per inch |
| HDR support | HDR10+ | Not separately specified |
| Rated peak brightness | 3,000 nits | Not separately specified |
| Display area | 179.2 cm² | Not specified |
| Screen-to-body ratio | Approximately 89.6% | Not specified |
| Surface and protection | Plastic front when unfolded; anti-reflective coating | Corning Gorilla Glass Ceramic 3, as listed in the display section |
| Additional technology | Flex Titanium technology | — |
The supplied body section calls the cover protection “Gorilla Glass Victus Ceramic 3,” while the display section lists “Gorilla Glass Ceramic 3.” The exact designation requires confirmation.
Folded dimensions and construction
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Unfolded dimensions | 161.4 × 123.9 × 4.5 mm |
| Folded dimensions | 81.9 × 123.9 × 9.7 mm |
| Weight | 201g (7.09 oz) |
| Rear protection | Corning Gorilla Glass Victus 2 |
| Frame | Aluminium; listed as Armor Aluminum |
| Ingress protection | IP48 |
| Solid-particle protection | Protection against solid objects larger than 1mm; not dust-tight |
| Water resistance | Rated for immersion up to 1.5 metres for 30 minutes under specified test conditions |
Processor and software
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Chipset | Qualcomm Snapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 |
| Chipset model | SM8850-1-AD |
| Manufacturing process | 3 nm |
| CPU | Octa-core: 2 × 4.74GHz Oryon V3 Phoenix L + 6 × 3.62GHz Oryon V3 Phoenix M |
| Graphics processor | Adreno 840, clocked at 1.3GHz |
| Operating system | Android 17 |
| User interface | Samsung One UI 9 |
| OS update support | Up to seven major Android OS updates |
| Desktop experience | Samsung DeX |
RAM and storage configurations
| Internal storage | RAM | Storage technology |
|---|---|---|
| 256GB | 12GB | UFS 4.x |
| 512GB | 12GB | UFS 4.x |
| 1TB | 12GB | UFS 4.x |
| 1TB | 16GB | UFS 4.x |
Memory card support: No microSD card slot.
Rear camera system
| Camera | Resolution and lens | Sensor, autofocus and stabilisation |
|---|---|---|
| Main camera | 50MP; f/1.8 aperture; 23mm wide lens | 1/1.56-inch sensor; 1.0µm pixels; dual-pixel phase-detection autofocus; optical image stabilisation (OIS) |
| Ultrawide camera | 50MP; f/1.9 aperture; 13mm lens; 120° field of view | 1/2.51-inch sensor; 0.7µm pixels; multi-directional phase-detection autofocus |
Selfie and cover cameras
| Specification | Inner selfie camera | Cover camera |
|---|---|---|
| Resolution | 10MP | 10MP |
| Aperture | f/2.2 | f/2.2 |
| Lens | 18mm ultrawide | 24mm wide |
| Sensor size | 1/3.52 inch | 1/3.52 inch |
| Pixel size | 1.12µm | 1.12µm |
Photography and video features
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Rear photography features | LED flash, HDR and panorama |
| Rear 8K video | 30 frames per second |
| Rear 4K video | 30, 60 or 120 frames per second |
| Rear Full HD video | 1080p at 30, 60, 120 or 240 frames per second |
| Rear video stabilisation | Gyroscope-assisted electronic image stabilisation (gyro-EIS) and OIS |
| Selfie photography features | HDR |
| Listed selfie video modes | 4K at 30/60 frames per second; 1080p at 30/60 frames per second |
| Selfie video stabilisation | Gyro-EIS |
Battery and charging
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Battery technology | Silicon-carbon lithium-ion |
| Battery capacity | 4800mAh |
| Wired charging | 45W |
| Listed charging protocol | Quick Charge 2.0 |
| Listed charging speed | 63% in 30 minutes; actual results depend on charging conditions |
| Wireless charging | 20W |
| Reverse wireless charging | 4.5W |
| Charging connector | USB Type-C |
Mobile networks and SIM support
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Network technology | GSM / HSPA / LTE / 5G |
| SIM options | Nano-SIM + eSIM + eSIM; maximum of two active at a time |
| 2G bands | GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900 |
| 3G bands | HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1700 (AWS) / 1900 / 2100 |
| 4G bands — International | 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 38, 39, 40, 41, 66 |
| 4G bands — USA | 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29, 30, 38, 39, 40, 41, 48, 66, 71 |
| 5G bands — General listing | 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 12, 20, 25, 26, 28, 38, 40, 41, 66, 77, 78 |
| 5G bands — USA | 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 12, 20, 25, 28, 38, 41, 66, 71, 77, 78, 257, 258, 260, 261 |
| 5G modes — General listing | Standalone (SA), non-standalone (NSA) and sub-6GHz |
| 5G modes — USA | SA, NSA, sub-6GHz and mmWave |
| Mobile data connectivity | HSPA, LTE and 5G |
Connectivity and audio
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Wi-Fi | Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac/6/7; tri-band; Wi-Fi Direct |
| Bluetooth | Version 6.0; A2DP; Bluetooth Low Energy; aptX HD |
| Satellite positioning | GPS, Galileo, GLONASS, BeiDou (BDS) and QZSS |
| NFC | Yes |
| Ultra Wideband | UWB supported |
| USB connection | USB Type-C 3.2 with USB On-The-Go (OTG) |
| Loudspeakers | Stereo speakers |
| Additional audio support | High-bitrate audio |
| 3.5mm headphone jack | No |
| FM radio | No |
Security and sensors
| Specification | Details |
|---|---|
| Fingerprint reader | Side-mounted |
| Motion sensors | Accelerometer and gyroscope |
| Proximity sensor | Yes |
| Compass | Yes |
| Barometer | Yes |
Reported performance and battery tests
These results come from the supplied test data and are not measurements performed by Nyongesa Sande.
| Test | Reported result | What it describes |
|---|---|---|
| AnTuTu v10 | 2,197,874 | Overall system performance |
| AnTuTu v11 | 2,947,517 | Overall performance using a different benchmark version |
| Geekbench 6 | 10,619 | CPU performance; score type unspecified |
| 3DMark Wild Life Extreme | 6,459 | Graphics performance |
| Measured display brightness | 1,525 nits | Maximum brightness in the supplied test; screen tested unspecified |
| Loudspeaker loudness | −29.0 LUFS; rated Average | Measured loudness and the source’s rating |
| Battery active use score | 13 hours, 59 minutes | Endurance under the source’s active use testing method |
Scores from different benchmark versions should not be compared directly.
EU energy label and SAR
| Specification | Reported rating or value |
|---|---|
| Energy efficiency | Class A |
| Battery endurance per charge | 49 hours, 10 minutes under EU label testing conditions |
| Rated battery cycle life | 1,200 cycles |
| Free-fall reliability | Class A; 210 falls |
| Repairability | Class C |
| Head SAR | 1.23 W/kg |
| Body SAR | 1.17 W/kg |
| EU head SAR | 0.82 W/kg |
| EU body SAR | 1.21 W/kg |
SAR means specific absorption rate. Specifications, pricing, test results and EU label ratings are based on the supplied content and have not been independently verified. Features and availability may vary by market.
Read Also: Samsung Galaxy Z Fold8 Ultra









